For us who always want more

but care for less,

who dream of  a peaceful Christmas

but wrap our lives with pressure and distress;

 

For us who love people at a distance

but turn away when they draw near,

who delight in fickle comfort

and tremble at the slightest fear;

 

For us whose vacant eyes stare at idiot boards

that we mistake for faces and significant events,

For us who plunder giant malls and bargain stores

to scavenge for pleasure and fashionable scents;

 

For us, yes for us, Jesus was born,

the God whose words we cannot fail to miss:

“Come to me all you who labor and heavily burdened

And I will give you rest.

For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

 

From a Christmas card I received last year.

The cathartic experience of reading this poem lived on in my heart to this day.

HAVE THE MERRIEST OF CHRISTMAS AND A BLESSED NEW YEAR, FOLKS!!!

